Working in a Shared Review task as an assignee

IMPORTANT: This article covers covers Review tasks with the Editing Mode set to Shared and Review tasks without Item Editing enabled.
NOTE: Only users with the Review Assignee permission can work in Review tasks. For more information, read About task managers, assignees, and lead assignees.

Review tasks allow you to inspect an item list on an item-by-item basis. As an assignee, you can vote on the quality of included items. If Item Editing is enabled, you can edit items in the task. In a Shared Review task, all assignees work on the same copy of the item. This means you can see your teammates’ work.

This article explains how to work in a Shared Review task as an assignee, including how to edit and vote on items.

In this article

1. Open the task

NOTE: If you have both Assignee and Manager permissions, select Own Tasks on the All Tasks / Own Tasks toggle to only see tasks that are assigned to you.

On the Tasks list, select the Review task you want to work on. The task details panel displays the task’s description and doughnut charts representing the number of submitted items and days until the deadline. You can also download attachments if the task has any. For more information, read About the Tasks screen.

TIP: To find a specific task, you can search, order, and filter the Tasks list. For more information, read ‘Finding tasks’ in About the Tasks screen.

Select Open Task to open the Item Review screen and start working on the Review task. This changes the task’s status to In progress.

2. Preview an item

The Item Review screen contains all items in the associated item list. Items are displayed in the test driver, allowing you to see the items from a candidate’s perspective.

Use the item information panel to view the item’s settings.

Icon Setting Description
Item Settings View information about Item Version, Item Purpose, Marking Type, Mark, and Correct Answer.
Item Tags View the item’s assigned tag groups and tag values. For more information, see Using tags in items.
Item Tag Collections View the item’s assigned tag collections. For more information, read Using tag collections in items.
Item Enemies View any enemy items associated with the item. For more information, see Adding enemies to an item.
Citations View the item’s citations. For more information, see Adding citations to an item.
Candidate Feedback

View the correct answer and any candidate feedback that has been added to the item. For more information, see Adding candidate feedback to items.

NOTE: Correct answer may not always show as it depends on the item type.

Select Undock to pop out the dialog windows for any information available in the panel. Select and drag the dialog window to move it around the screen.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-528.png

Select Dock to return the dialog window to the right-hand side panel.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-529.png

Select an item breadcrumb on the item navigation panel to go to another item.

Alternatively, you can enter a specific item number into the Go to item field to navigate directly to that item.

If an item is in an item set, you can enter a decimal (such as 1.3) in the Go to item field to navigate directly to that item.

You can also select Previous and Next to move through the item list.

Flagging items

You can flag items to mark them for an action at a later time.

3. Edit the item

NOTE: This only applies to Review tasks with Item Editing enabled.

If Item Editing was enabled during task creation, you can amend items from the Item Review screen. Select Edit Item to go to the Edit screen.

You can edit question stems, answer options, media, tools, and item settings. For more information on editing items, read Creating items.

IMPORTANT: You cannot change workflow statuses in a Review task. Workflow statuses are controlled by lead assignees and change at the point of final decisions. For information about final decisions, read Working in a Shared Review task as a lead assignee.
WARNING: You cannot edit items that have received a final decision from the lead assignee. If the lead assignee wants to edit or make a final decision on an item you are currently editing, they may choose to remove you and discard your changes.

After saving the item, your changes are reflected in Item Authoring. However, the item will be locked for editing until the task is finalised by the lead assignee or manager.

About tracked changes

Task managers can enable tracked changes at the task creation stage to record certain text edits made to items as part of the task. Additions and deletions are colour-coded by user and tracked in question stems, answer options, and the Candidate Feedback field.

4. Vote on the item

Use the Reject , Advise , and Approve buttons to record your verdict on an item. Lead assignees can view this voting data to make a final decision on each item.

Select Reject for poor items that do not meet the standards for testing.

Select Advise for items that will be suitable for testing after minor amendments, but are not satisfactory in their current state.

Select Approve for items that need no corrections.

Selecting a voting option opens a dialog that asks you to explain your decision. To register a Reject or Advise vote, you must provide an explanation of no more than 4,000 characters. Approve votes do not need an explanation. Select Confirm to move to the next item in the list.

NOTE: Voting comments in Shared Review tasks do not appear in the item history.

The item’s breadcrumb updates to indicate that a vote has been recorded.

Vote Breadcrumb Colour Icon
Approve Green Check
Advise Amber Exclamation mark
Reject Red Minus symbol
NOTE: Confirming a vote overrides any previous votes on the item.

5. Close the task

After voting on all items, you can close the Review task.

There are two ways to close a Review task.

Select Close task to close the task and return to the Tasks screen.

Alternatively, you can select Return to Tasks screen .

6. Complete the task

Select Complete Task  in the task details panel once you have closed the task.

This changes the task’s status to Complete.

Marking a task as incomplete

You can mark a task as incomplete if you incorrectly select Complete Task or the task needs to be worked on again.