Comparing item versions

NOTE: If you would like Version Compare enabled on your Surpass instance, speak to your Surpass Account Manager.

Version Compare allows you to see two versions of an item in a side-by-side view. You can toggle between different item versions with differences between them highlighted for easy comparison.

This article explains how to use Version Compare to review changes made between different item versions.

In this article

1. Go to your item’s Edit screen

Select an item in your subject to open it and go to the Edit screen.

2. Open Version Compare

NOTE: You must have the View Content and Edit permissions for the relevant workflow statuses to compare item versions.

To compare item versions, select Version Compare .

Version Compare is available for the following item types:

3. Choose item versions

IMPORTANT: You cannot compare versions of items created before Version Compare is enabled on your Surpass instance.

Items can have major versions (whole integers like 1, 2, and 3) and minor versions (non-integer decimals like 1.1, 1.2, and 1.3).

A new major item version is created every time there are saved changes to the item owner or workflow status. Any changes made to live items create a new major version.

Use the Version menus to select the item versions you want to compare.

4. Show or hide changes

Use the Changes visible / Changes hidden toggle to control the visibility of changes between item versions.

The Key defines how changes are presented in the Version Compare interface.

Icon Type Description
Added Indicates that the content was added in the selected item version.
Removed Indicates that the content was removed in the selected item version. 

Changes visible in items

The following changes are visible in items:

Changes visible in item sets

The following changes are visible in item sets:

  • Name
  • Owner
  • Tags
  • Enemy item sets
  • Item set properties
  • Shared information