Editing tasks

NOTE: Only users with General Manager, Authoring Manager, Review Manager, or Standard Setting Manager permissions can edit tasks. For more information, read About task managers, assignees, and lead assignees.

After creating a task, you can edit it at any point before it is finalised. You have different editing capabilities depending on the task’s status.

You can edit more options for Not started tasks than In progress tasks. You cannot edit Completed tasks without selecting Mark as incomplete. This changes the task’s status back to In progress.

EXAMPLE: You might want to edit a task to add or remove assignees or to extend the task’s deadline.

This article explains how to edit a task, including which settings are editable before the task has started and while the task is in progress.

In this article

1. Check the task’s status

You can only edit tasks at the In progress or Not started statuses. You can find the status of a task next to its name on the Tasks list.

Editing completed tasks

To edit a task at the Completed status, you must change it back to the In progress status by marking it as incomplete.

2. Select the task

Select the task you want to edit on the Tasks list.

3. Edit the task

Select Edit Task on the task details panel to begin editing the task.

Editing an Authoring task

The settings that can be edited in an Authoring task depend on whether the task’s status is In progress or Not started.

Editing a Review task

The settings that can be edited in a Review task depend on whether the task’s status is In progress or Not started, as well as whether the Editing Mode is set to Shared, Individual or Item Analysis. For more information on Shared, Individual and Item Analysis settings, read Creating a Review task.

Editing a Standard Setting task

The settings that can be edited in a Standard Setting task depend on whether the task’s status is In progress or Not started.

Editing a General task

The settings that can be edited in a General task depend on whether the task’s status is In progress or Not started.

Select Save Changes after making your edits to save the changes to the task.

Further reading