Working in an Individual Review task as a lead assignee

NOTE: Only users with the Review Assignee permission can work in Review tasks. For more information, read About task managers, assignees, and lead assignees.

Review tasks allow you to inspect an item list on an item-by-item basis. In an Individual Review task, all assignees work on their own versions of task items. As a lead assignee, you can review all assignees’ item versions and promote selected changes to the original central copy of the item.

This article explains how to work in an Individual Review task as a lead assignee, including how to compare item versions and promote changes to the original item.

In this article

1. Open the task

NOTE: If you have both Assignee and Manager permissions, select Own Tasks on the All Tasks / Own Tasks toggle to only see tasks that are assigned to you.

On the Tasks list, select the Review task you want to work on. The task details panel displays the task’s description and doughnut charts representing the number of submitted items and days until the deadline. You can also download attachments if the task has any. For more information, read About the Tasks screen.

TIP: To find a specific task, you can search, order, and filter the Tasks list. For more information, read ‘Finding tasks’ in About the Tasks screen.

Select Open Review Mode to open the Item Review screen and start working on the Review task.

2. Preview an item

The Item Review screen contains the central copies of items in the associated item list. Items are displayed in the test driver, allowing you to see the items from a candidate’s perspective.

Use the item information panel to view the item’s settings.

Icon Setting Description
Item Settings View information about Item Version, Item Purpose, Marking Type, Mark, and Correct Answer.
Item Tags View the item’s assigned tag groups and tag values. For more information, see Using tags in items.
Item Tag Collections View the item’s assigned tag collections. For more information, read Using tag collections in items.
Item Enemies View any enemy items associated with the item. For more information, see Adding enemies to an item.
Citations View the item’s citations. For more information, see Adding citations to an item.
Candidate Feedback

View the correct answer and any candidate feedback that has been added to the item. For more information, see Adding candidate feedback to items.

NOTE: Correct answer may not always show as it depends on the item type.

Select Undock to pop out the dialog windows for any information available in the panel. Select and drag the dialog window to move it around the screen.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-528.png

Select Dock to return the dialog window to the right-hand side panel.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-529.png

Select an item breadcrumb on the item navigation panel to go to another item.

Alternatively, you can enter a specific item number into the Go to item field to navigate directly to that item.

If an item is in an item set, you can enter a decimal (such as 1.3) in the Go to item field to navigate directly to that item.

You can also select Previous and Next to move through the item list.

Flagging items

You can flag items to mark them for an action at a later time.

Exporting task items

As lead assignee, you can export the task items to analyse them in further detail. For further information, read Downloading Review task reports and Exporting Review task items.

Duplicating items

Lead assignees can duplicate existing items in a Review task.

IMPORTANT: Task assignees cannot see duplicate items in Review tasks. Duplicated items cannot be deleted.
TIP: This functionality can be used to make and save new changes to items in the form of a new duplicate version without overwriting the original item.

3. Compare item versions

Select Edit Item to go to the Edit screen.

The Edit screen displays the unedited central copy of the item in a side-by-side with assignees’ edited versions.

You can edit the original item’s question stems, answer options, media, tools, and item settings. For more information on editing items, read Creating items.

IMPORTANT: You cannot change workflow statuses in a Review task. Workflow statuses are controlled by task manager at the point of task creation. For information about workflow statuses in Individual Review tasks, read Creating a Review task.

Switch between different assignees’ edited item versions in the Version menu.

By default, the assignee’s changes are highlighted on their edited version.

TIP: You can hide the assignee’s changes by selecting Changes Hidden on the Changes Visible / Changes Hidden toggle.

Switching viewing modes

Select Single Master View to turn off comparison view and view the original item version in full-screen mode.

Select Comparison View to return to the side-by-side view.

4. Promote changes

Select Promote to editable item next to a previous version’s question stem or answer option to copy the information over to the equivalent field on your item.

NOTE: The structure of the item versions must match in order to promote content. For example, if there are four answer options in the original item and the edited version has five, you cannot promote the fifth answer option. In this case, you need to add an additional answer option to the original item and then promote the changes from the edited version.
IMPORTANT: You can only promote an item’s first question stem and an item set’s shared question stem.

5. Submit the item

You must save your item before you can submit it. To save an item, select Save . Saving your items allows you to leave the task and return later to continue working.

The original item remains locked for editing in Item Authoring until you or a manager finalise the task.

When you have saved your item you can submit it. Select Submit Item to mark the item as complete. When an item is submitted, you can no longer edit it.

The item’s breadcrumb updates to show that the item has been submitted.

6. Close the task

After submitting all items, you can close the Review task.

There are two ways to close a Review task.

Select Close task to close the task and return to the Tasks screen.

Alternatively, you can select Return to Tasks screen .

7. Finalise the task

WARNING: Unsubmitted item versions are removed when the task is finalised. Ensure that all relevant items are submitted before you finalise the task.

Select Finalise Task in the task details panel when you are satisfied that the task is complete.

This changes the task’s status to Complete.

Reopening the task

You can reopen the task if you incorrectly select Finalise Task or the task needs further work.