Working in an Authoring task as an assignee

NOTE: Only users with the Authoring Assignee permission can work in Authoring tasks. For more information, read About task managers, assignees, and lead assignees.

Authoring tasks allow you to add content to a predefined collection of blank or partially completed items. As an assignee, you have a set quota of items to edit during the task.

This article explains how to work in an Authoring task as an assignee, including how to compare and flag items, preview your changes, and mark the task as complete/incomplete.

In this article

1. Open the task

NOTE: If you have both Assignee and Manager permissions, select Own Tasks on the All Tasks / Own Tasks toggle to only see tasks that are assigned to you.

On the Tasks list, select the Authoring task you want to work on. The task details panel displays the task’s description and doughnut charts representing the number of submitted items and days until the deadline. You can also download attachments if the task has any. For more information, read About the Tasks screen.

TIP: To find a specific task, you can search, order, and filter the Tasks list. For more information, read ‘Finding tasks’ in About the Tasks screen.

Select Open Task to open the Authoring screen and start working on the Authoring task. This changes the task’s status to In progress.

2. Choose an item to edit

The Authoring screen contains the items you are to edit as part of this task.

Select an item breadcrumb on the item navigation panel to begin editing that item.

Alternatively, you can enter a specific item number into the Go to item field to navigate directly to that item.

If an item is in an item set, you can enter a decimal (such as 1.3) in the Go to item field to navigate directly to that item.

You can also select Previous and Next to move through the task’s items.

NOTE: Item sets are represented by indented breadcrumbs. Select the top-level item set breadcrumb to edit the item set's settings. For more information about item sets, read About item sets.

3. Edit your item

Make the required changes to your item. Depending on the item types and task settings, you can edit question stems, answer options, media, tools, and item settings. For more information on editing items, read Creating items.

IMPORTANT: You cannot change workflow statuses in an Authoring task. Workflow statuses are controlled by task managers and update at the point of submission. For information on workflow statuses in Authoring tasks, see Creating an Authoring task.

About tracked changes

Task managers can enable tracked changes at the task creation stage to record certain text edits made to items as part of the task. Additions and deletions are colour-coded by user and tracked in question stems, answer options, and the Candidate Feedback field.

Using the Comparison View

You can use Comparison View to compare the current version of the item you are editing to previous versions. You can copy over selected information from previous item versions to the current version.

Previewing items

You can preview your items to see your item from a candidate’s perspective.

Flagging items

You can flag items to mark them for an action at a later time.

4. Save your item

Select Save to save your changes to the item. You can continue to work on an item after saving it.

After saving the item, your changes are reflected in Item Authoring. However, the item will be locked for editing until the task is finalised by the lead assignee or manager.

IMPORTANT: Saving your item does not update your progress on the task details doughnut charts. Progress is only updated when items are submitted.

5. Submit your item

WARNING: Once you submit an item, you can no longer edit it. Ensure you make all necessary changes before submitting an item.

Select Submit Item to mark the item as finished.

NOTE: Before you can submit your item, you must save the item and ensure it has question text and, if applicable, answer options and a defined correct answer.

After selecting Submit Item , the Submit Item dialog warns you of the implications of submitting an item.

Submit and Next marks the item as finished and moves you to the next item.

Return to Item cancels the submission and returns you to the item.

NOTE: Lead assignees can submit items on your behalf. For more information, read Working in an Authoring task as a lead assignee.

Submitting an item updates your progress on the Tasks screen.

Continue editing, saving, and submitting items in the Authoring task until you submit all of your assigned items.

6. Close the task

After saving and submitting your items, you can safely close an Authoring task.

There are two ways to close an Authoring task.

Select Close task to close the task and return to the Tasks screen.

Alternatively, you can select Return to Tasks screen .

7. Complete the task

Select Complete Task  in the task details panel once you have submitted your items.

This changes the task’s status to Complete.

Marking a task as incomplete

You can mark a task as incomplete if you incorrectly select Complete Task or the task needs to be worked on again.